Operations and Services — each of which is administered by a Deputy Commissioner. In turn, six divisions at the next level — Field, Traffic, Management, Staff Services, Special Services, and Staff Development — are administered by their respective Assistant Commissioners. Specialized branches under the Special Services Division include Auto Theft, Criminal Investigation, Anti-rackets, Security, Intelligence, and Special Investigations.

For policing and administration purposes, the province is divided geographically into 17 districts. In the field, there are 187 detachments controlled through 17 district headquarters located at Chatham, London, Burlington, Niagara Falls, Downsview, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Long Sault, North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste Marie, South Porcupine, Thunder Bay and Kenora; 13 municipalities are policed under special contract.

Under provisions of the Ontario Police Act, the force is responsible for: (1) enforcing federal and provincial statutes in those areas that are not required to maintain their own police department; (2) maintaining a traffic patrol on the more than 10,000 miles of King's Highways and 65,000 miles of secondary county and township roads; (3) enforcing the Liquor Licence Act and the Liquor Control Act for Ontario; (4) maintaining a Criminal Investigation Branch and other specialized branches to assist all other forces in the investigation of major crimes; and (5) assisting other forces by providing additional manpower in the event of emergencies.

Under the Staff Services Division, the Central Records and Communications Branch offers 24-hour seven-day-week service to all police departments in Ontario on such matters as criminal records, fingerprint records, dry-cleaning and laundry mark identification. The Branch also serves as the Ontario Police Force's Driver Suspension Control Centre.

The OPP operates one of the largest frequency-modulation radio networks in the world, with 113 fixed radio stations and more than 1,597 radio-equipped mobile units including motorcycles, marine units and aircraft. It also operates the Ontario Provincial Police telecommunications network connecting all 17 districts as well as other police departments on a local, national and international basis. Extensions to routine police service are provided by canine, SCUBA, marine-bush rescue units, and aircraft, strategically located throughout the province and available to other law-enforcement agencies upon request.

The year 1974 saw the first recruitment of women in the force's 65-year history. Recruitment of both men and women will permit qualified young persons to make a career in a long-established police force. Officers from inspector up to and including the rank of Commissioner receive the Queen's Commission in the same manner as members of Canada's

Armed Forces.

Quebec Police Force. Under the authority of the Attorney General, the Quebec Police Force is responsible for maintaining peace, order and public safety throughout the province, and for prevention and investigation of criminal offences and violations of provincial law. The Force is under the command of a director general and four assistant directors-general with support services provided by a comptroller-general of personnel and communications. The Force, with headquarters in Montreal, is divided into six services: planning, personnel and communications, administration, operations, technical, and special services (intelligence and security).

For police purposes, the province is divided into eight districts each under the command of a Chief Inspector or an Inspector. Bas St-Laurent District, including the sections of Chandler, Rimouski and Baie Comeau, has 18 detachments; Saguenay-Lac St-Jean, six detachments; Quebec, including the sections of Québec-Nord, Québec-Sud and Rivière-du-Loup, 24 detachments; La Mauricie, nine detachments; L'Estrie, six detachments; Montreal, including the sections of Joliette, Montreal, Saint-Jean, and Arctic Quebec, 28 detachments; Outaouais and Nord-Ouest, eight detachments each. Strength of the Quebec Police Force at the end of 1974 was 4,018 officers, non-commissioned officers and constables and 932 civilian employees.

Municipal police forces. Provincial legislation makes it mandatory for cities and towns to furnish adequate municipal policing for the maintenance of law and order in their communities. Also, all villages and townships or parts of townships having a population density and a real property assessment sufficient to warrant maintenance of a police force, and having been so designated by Order in Council, are responsible for adequate policing of their municipalities.

2.7.2 Uniform crime reporting

The present method of reporting police statistics (police administration, crime and traffic